TestProject Forum
Powered by leading experts in the test automation community

Not Clicking "Element not visible

I am very new to automation and recording. But I have tried every possible way to get it to select the 4th or 5th star. xpath, css etc nothing seems to work. Any suggestions for a new comer to test automation.

Timeout occurred after 15000ms, trying to perform a click: Element state is invalid (obscured by another element or invisible): ElementNotVisibleException: Element is not visible

Shared with CloudApp

If I need to provide more information please let me know.

Thanks in Advance

Hi @marcel.bauer
Looks like you did everything correctly.
The reason why it fails is that element you are trying to click being covered with some another element that intercepts the click action on itself. You can understand this by the part of the error message where it tells that the element was obscured.
This can be easily resolved by changing regular click action to Click using JavaScript

This click will be made with JavaScript, which means that it will interact directly with the element in html page.
Regular click using Selenium and tries to apply click on top of the element which sometimes may cause this failures

Thank you for the quick reply, I am now getting a different error which is some progress :slight_smile:

java.util.concurrent.ExecutionException: org.openqa.selenium.JavascriptException: javascript error: Cannot read property ‘click’ of null
(Session info: chrome=84.0.4147.89)
Build info: version: ‘3.141.59’, revision: ‘e82be7d358’, time: ‘2018-11-14T08:17:03’
System info: host: ‘localhost’, ip: ‘127.0.0.1’, os.name: ‘Mac OS X’, os.arch: ‘x86_64’, os.version: ‘10.15.6’, java.version: ‘13.0.1’
Driver info: io.testproject.java.sdk.v2.drivers.WebDriver