Advantages of using OpenSDK vs TestProject site or trying to combine both

Hi!

I’m quite new to the framework, and would appreciate some tips so that one could get the most out of TestProject.

TestProject allows us to record and perform tests by using only the website + Agent -combination. Tests can be scheduled as Jobs as well from the site for automation. Then on the other hand there’s TestProject OpenSDK (we use C#), which allows us to do the same from code. But what if someone writes tests in code, but some people use the website on the same project, from what I understand the coded test doesn’t automatically exist in the project (eventhough it is shown in reporting) and the recorded test on the website will not automatically exist in the coded project.

1. What are the key advantages of using OpenSDK vs doing all on web? when is it a must to use OpenSDK for example
  2. Are there disadvantages of using only the TestProject website for everything?
  3. Is there a good way of using/organizing both OpenSDK and website? for example, more technical people writing tests in code and others using the website and to keep all tests still organized

I welcome all resources, tips and advice, thanks in advance!

Hi @Wilho ,

1. When creating a coded test, one of the key benefits is that you can upload the test to your project and use it, for example as a step in the existing recorded test:
    chrome_WLjPX1OBy0
    And of course, as you already know, you can execute your coded test from the IDE itself.
  • Regarding the automatic existence, it will not automatically exist in your TestProject account.
    For that scenario, you will have to upload it manually to your account you can find more information about this subject here:
    How can I upload a coded test to TestProject | TestProject Help Center